Navigating Tech Goals: Learning React Native and Installing Java 17 for Android Studio Hedgehog

Navigating Tech Goals: Learning React Native and Installing Java 17 for Android Studio Hedgehog

Embarking on a Front-End Odyssey with Challenges, Aspirations, and Solutions

Introduction

In the first week of this year, I faced challenges in initiating my pursuit of tech goals outlined in my New Year's resolutions. Although I fell short of diving into a comprehensive study of various subjects such as Three.js, GSAP, and Cloud technologies, I am determined to grasp the basics of these technologies. Continuous learning is a fundamental aspect of being a developer, and I am committed to this lifelong journey. On a positive note, I successfully commenced my journey into learning React Native, marking a significant accomplishment for me this week.

Why ??

Being a currently unemployed 21-year-old aspiring to start a career in front-end development, I have many dreams and am seeking that one chance to prove myself and launch my career journey. Inspired by Zlatan Ibrahimović's quote, "Why be normal when you can be the best," I am cultivating a mindset to become the best front-end engineer anyone has ever met. Learning React Native allows me to make myself unique from other developers who may focus solely on web or Android development. I aim to do both and stand out as a versatile developer.

Why Learn React Native?

In a world where half of the population uses phones for internet surfing, limiting oneself to web development seems outdated. The key is to be limitless, to combine different technologies, create something new, and strive to be the best.

Now What problem I face in Installation of React Native ?

During the installation of React Native, I faced challenges, especially considering my lack of experience with Expo. For those using Expo for Android development, it's a viable option. However, if you prefer working with Android Studio, note that it no longer requires Java-11. The Java version depends on the Android SDK you are using, as indicated in the table provided by the Android Studio website.

To create an app for the latest Android version (Android-14), you need to use Java-17. While there are countless tutorial videos on YouTube for installing Android Studio and creating a React Native app, I recommend following professional guidance. Hitesh Choudhary videos provide valuable insights into installing Android Studio for both Mac and Windows. Be sure to install Java-17 if you're using the latest version of Android Studio, as I discovered after spending over two days resolving this issue. Many YouTube tutorials may recommend Java-11, but it's crucial to stay updated with the requirements, and in this case, Java-17 is necessary.